the first

09/28/2019

Gloomy days remind me

Of the first time I met you.


I was very nervous,

being dropped off

On unknown and unfamiliar territory.

To be honest, I was upset

About our first moment

Being under the grey.


But I was also excited

To write something with you

And challenge my perceptions.


You were very different:

Unlike anything I've ever seen.

Loud and yet soft,

Strange and yet comfortable,

Distant and yet close.

Everything about you drew me closer

And I was content

With being stretched.


Over time,

I learned to love you.

Despite the hatred I have

For gloomy days,

You filled my eyes with something more

Than what I've always known

And my idea of grey changed.


It's been over a year

And I still can't help but miss you

On gloomy days.


I hope you're well.

xx

ireneskylar.paek


© Irene Skylar Paek 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started