i finally said goodbye

09/22/2020

I looked back

To see how far I've come

With the wound I never wanted to carry

But always tried to neglect.

 

Tears that fell onto the pavement

Were no longer visible

As if crying wasn't ever worth it.

My feet wanted me to slow down

When I had the chance to fly.

My eyes wanted to look

At the freedom I was capable of

But my mind was stuck

Looking at the floor

Searching for the right answers

In the wrong places.


I had to stop.

I had to stop looking back

Only to hurt myself

With the things I carried

When I should have rather let them go.

I had to stop looking back

Because to take care of something

Hoping that it would grow beautifully

When it had no roots to start with

Is selfish and fruitless.

I had to stop looking back

So that I can only focus on looking forward.

One by one,

I said my farewell

And I separated from my thorns.


© Irene Skylar Paek 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started