she slammed the door

09/22/2020

She slammed the door

For the millionth time.

She said she was sick of it.

She said she was tired of it.

She said she didn't want anything to do with it.

She said she didn't want anything to do

With

Me.


She told me that she was done trying

While she was crying

In the corner of her bathroom floor.

I tried to console her

And told her that I didn't mean to-


"SHUT UP."


She buried her face

Into her silk pajamas,

The ones she's worn for over twenty years.

She didn't want to throw them away

No matter how tattered

How torn

How beaten

Or how worn they were.

She was afraid of losing something so elegant

That she kept stitching them up from the inside

So that no one could tell

That they were over twenty years old.


She told me to leave.

She kept her face hidden

And told me to leave.

I asked for her to please,

Please,

Explain to me

What was going on

So that I could see

What she was thinking.


I tried to reach for her,

To comfort her,

But at the slap of my hand

One of the stitches came undone

For the first time.


© Irene Skylar Paek 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started